Homeowner Assistance Fund

Federal relief for struggling homeowners

Under the Homeowner Assistance Fund (HAF), which is part of the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021, the U.S. Department of the Treasury is distributing more than $9.9 billion to eligible states, territories, and Tribes. Depending on availability and usage of funds, this mortgage assistance program is expected to be available through September 2025. The Department of the Treasury has posted guidance on HAF at the U.S. Treasury website at: U.S. Treasury homeowner-assistance-fund Information

How will the Homeowner Assistance Fund be used?

The HAF prioritizes funds for homeowners who have experienced the greatest hardship in an effort to:

  • Prevent mortgage delinquencies, defaults, and foreclosures, by providing financial assistance
  • Avoid loss of utilities or home energy services, through payment assistance
  • Assist homeowners who have experienced a financial hardship after January 21, 2020
  • Cover qualified expenses for a homeowner's primary residence

Who receives and administers the funds?

The HAF will be distributed to: 

  • All 50 states, Washington D.C., and Puerto Rico
  • S. Territories: Guam, American Samoa, U.S. Virgin Islands, Northern Mariana Islands
  • Tribes and Tribal entities, the Department of Hawaiian Home Lands (DHHL)    

These participating entities will determine program eligibility and administer funds, providing relief for eligible homeowners struggling to make mortgage payments and other housing-related expenses.

Contact your state program directly for availability, eligibility, and application information.

Find state info / U.S. territory info

American Indian, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian homeowners can also contact their tribe or tribal housing program directly for information, in addition to their state’s program.

Find tribal info

Mortgage Resources – Homeowner Assistance Funds: